Town Home
95 Cedar Street - Newington, CT 06111-2603 - Phone: (860) 665-8700

Lucy Robbins Welles Library
75th Anniversary








This year we are very excited to be celebrating the 75th anniversary of the Lucy Robbins Welles Library. Today, as when the library’s doors first opened, we continue to strive to be an integral part of the Newington community.

While library services have changed and expanded over the years, the library’s mission to provide information, education and cultural enrichment for the Newington community through a commitment to excellence in library resources remains the same.

Who is Lucy? 

Portrait of Lucy Robbins Welles

Join "750 Club" 



History of the library 


Leave a Legacy

The Library Today

2014 Annual Meeting
& 75th Anniversary Celebration
 Each September the Library Board of Trustees holds its annual meeting. At this meeting 
library board officers are elected, honorees are recognized for their contributions to the library and individuals inducted into the Legacy Society.

  Library Board of Trustees
2014-2015 Officers

President- Anna Eddy
Vice-President- Diane Stamm
Treasurer- Iris Larsson
Secretary- Judy Igielski



Library Board President Anna Eddy
receiving a General Assembly Official
Citation in honor of the library's
75th anniversary from
State Representative Sandy Nafis.


State Senator Paul Doyle speaking
at the annual meeting.

2014 Library Honorees

Grant Recognition Honoree        


American Eagle Federal 
Credit Union Foundation

Library Board President
Anna Eddy with American Eagle
Federal Credit Union Newington
Branch Manager Pam Golchin.

Race Recognition Honoree


Healthy Body Massage Therapy

Library Board Trustee Pam Raynock with Theresa Gogluicci, owner of Healthy Body Massage Therapy

Outstanding Volunteer Honoree


Scott Hoagland

Library Board Trustee Diane Stamm
with Scott Hoagland.
Retired Library Board of Trustee

Anthony Palermino
(1999 - 2014) 

Anthony Palermino with Library
 Board Trustee Maureen Lyons being recognized for 21 years of
service on the Board.

Corporate Recognition Honoree

Chili's Bar & Grill- Newington

2014 Legacy Society Inductees  
 The Library Board of Trustees inducts individuals who turn their vision,
ability and dedication into contributions to support the Lucy Robbins Welles
Library. These individuals are recognized as members of the
Lucy Robbins Welles Library Legacy Society.

Legacy Society Benefactors Circle

Henry J. Borawski

Mr. Borawski was a longtime
Newington library patron who not
only enjoyed reading but also enjoyed
 visiting the library because
 of its warm and welcoming staff.  
The library is thankful for for his
 generous bequest. 


Legacy Society  Patrons Club

Heidi and Richard Friedman

 Library Board Trustee Ellen Vessella
with Cecelia Deschler and Library Board President Anna Eddy. The Friedmans made a donation in honor
of their mother Cecelia Deschler.

75th Anniversary Celebration  
with Guest Speaker Author William Landay