Town Home
131 Cedar Street - Newington, CT 06111-2644 - Phone: (860) 665-8510
Print Page

Mayor and Town Council



 Mayor Roy Zartarian

Councilor Carol Anest  Councilor Gail Budrejko
 Councilor Diana Cassasanta-Serra Councilor Beth Kinsey DelBuono

Councilor Maureen Klett
 Councilor Tim Manke
Councilor Jim Marocchini
Councilor David Nagel 

Mayor and Town Council 

Service Requests

Sign Up for Announcements


Newington received its Charter from the State of Connecticut in 1871 and is currently governed under the Council-Manager form of government with a nine member Town Council.  The Town Council is the governing and legislative body of the Town with all the rights, powers, duties and obligations conferred by law. It adopts the budget and fixes the tax rate for the Town, proposes and amends ordinances or resolutions for the execution of the powers vested in the Town, for the government of the Town and management of its business, and for the preservation of good order, peace, health and safety of the Town and its inhabitants.

The Town Council consists of the Mayor and eight members elected from the town at large every two years.The Mayor, elected separately, is a member and presiding official of the Council with the power to vote.  Recognized as the official head of the Town for ceremonial and military purposes, the Mayor has the authority to appoint the Town Attorney, Director of Health and Clerk of the Council.  

The Town Council meets on the 2nd and 4th Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m,

Meetings are broadcast live on Newington Community Television (NCTV channel 16).

Council meeting schedules and current and past agendas and meeting minutes are available online or can be reviewed at Town Hall.

For a list of current Town Council members, click here.